suggestions for initial cleaning on model '92?

The Rossi Model R92, a lightweight carbine for Cowboy Action, hunting, or plinking! Includes Rossi manufactured Interarms, Navy Arms, and Puma trade names.
wdwrkr51

suggestions for initial cleaning on model '92?

Post by wdwrkr51 »

I want to clean and oil my new '92 prior to shooting it. I am new to lever actions, and new to the model 92, so I am asking for tips and suggestions to help me along. I already have a bore snake in the proper caliber, so I plan to use that for the barrel. What about for the rest of the action?

What about the new multifunction chemical products such as Breakfree CLP or Prolix? Any other "miracle products out there I should consider? Should I just stick to Hoppes no. 9 and gun oil?

Thanks for any words of wisdom.

wdwrkr51
Non Carborundum est Illegitimae Nothus!
akuser47
Founding Member
Founding Member

Re: suggestions for initial cleaning on model '92?

Post by akuser47 »

Your best fist thing is to remove mag tube end spring and follower, then remove rear stock,use nonchlorinated break cleaner start flushing mag tube barrel then action until it comes out clean. Then use you clp lube run ur snake or bore mop through mag tube and barrel then give a helthy lubeing spray to your action.put her back together. Cycle her to work it all in and shoot the heck out of her. Dont get the break cleaner on any of the wood. This will degrease all packing grease so you start with fresh good oil. Keep us posted
Live Free,Ride Free, Or Die Fighting, For The Right, To do So!
mr surveyor
1000 Shots
1000 Shots

Post by mr surveyor »

if you choose not to do a detail strip, which it doesn't sound necessary from your earlier post, the easiest way is as follows.

1. Remove the buttstock - nothing but removing the upper tang screw and jiggling/wiggling the stock off. Remove the magazine plug (carefully) and the looonnnnggg magazine spring with follower.