R92 in .45 take hot rugger only loads?

The Rossi Model R92, a lightweight carbine for Cowboy Action, hunting, or plinking! Includes Rossi manufactured Interarms, Navy Arms, and Puma trade names.
Matthew.kaye

R92 in .45 take hot rugger only loads?

Post by Matthew.kaye »

Hi all

Im new to the forum and not sure weather to get the .44 mag or .45 colt r92. My question is, will the .45 colt take hot rugger only loads or the +p loads by buffalo boar at 30,000psi of pressure?
plaidad

Re: R92 in .45 take hot rugger only loads?

Post by plaidad »

Matthew -
I'm not an expert, but the fellow who wrote this article http://www.leverguns.com/articles/paco/ ... vergun.htm is supposed to be pretty knowledgeable. He seems to think that the Rossi .45 will do.
Matthew.kaye

Post by Matthew.kaye »

Thankyou plaidad!
Ohio3Wheels
1000 Shots
1000 Shots

Post by Ohio3Wheels »

This may be a case of do as they say not as I do, but nearly all of my hunting loads for my 45 Colt '92 are from the "Ruger/Contender" only side of the manuals. I'll just say I use heavy bullets (cast and jacket) and a lot of H110. Thus far I've not seen any pressure signs on the cases or battering on the gun and the loads stay minute of deer at 50 yards in spite of the slow twist.

YMMV, follow all standard loading precautions and a good manual.

Make smoke,
Curt... makin' smoke and raising my carbon foot print one cartridge at a time Image
Matthew.kaye

Post by Matthew.kaye »

Thanks Ohio3Wheels. Start slow and work hp untill you see any pressure sighns baisicly!
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Ranch Dog »

Matthew.kaye wrote:Hi all

Im new to the forum and not sure weather to get the .44 mag or .45 colt r92. My question is, will the .45 colt take hot rugger only loads or the +p loads by buffalo boar at 30,000psi of pressure?
Mine has. My shooting is up to 35.0K PSI. Haven't had any problems with my rifle other than the wear and tear on my shoulder.
Michael
Warhawk
Founding Member
Founding Member