TC Inpact Muzzleloader

A bucket for anything that does not fit the above forum categories, both longgun and handgun.
triggerpull

TC Inpact Muzzleloader

Post by triggerpull »

Well--seeing how I have firmly maintained my grip on the title of world's worst deer hunter (meaning I didn't tag out)--in a final act of desperation I bought a TC Impact muzzleloader at Dick's Sporting Goods today--it was on sale for $200 and it will extend my season another 2 weeks.

Per the manual I did a field clean before use--and it took almost 10 patches that were black and filthy before the bore was reasonably clean--and the breech plug had tell-tale reddish look of ant-seize compound on it. I've always had this paranoia that big-box stores resell returned guns as new, but I'm new to black powder so my question is simply does Thomson Center test fire (and not clean) their muzzle loaders before shipping to dealers? The soreness on my backside says probably not--but I've had many other firearms built by reputable manufacturers that are test fired and delivered dirty--but TC is quite adamant about immediately cleaning black powder residue--so this seems unusual to me. What say the collective?
Archer
2000 Shots
2000 Shots

Re: TC Inpact Muzzleloader

Post by Archer »

MOST shops around here simply won't take returns on firearms, airguns or black powder weapons.
They will sometimes facilitate a return to the manufacturer for their dispensation but once you pay for it then you are more or less stuck with it.
That tends to go double for big-box retailers as they often won't or don't even know how to go about getting the manufacturer's attention where as the Local Gun Shops tend to be more personal service oriented.
Zippidydoodah

Post by Zippidydoodah »

[quote][/quote]
They probably test-fired your gun, but they lube their bullets with their proprietary "bore butter" that they claim prevents corrosion to the barrel. I use it but hot soap-water