Hello from Canada

Tell us a bit about yourself!
Zant264

Hello from Canada

Post by Zant264 »

Hello all from Canada.

I am an Aircraft Maintenance Engineer by trade. 20 years experience and recently got laid off due to government budget cuts as I was working for an aerial forest fire suppression company. I now work as a contractor taking jobs when and where I can. Just finished a month at a former charter company I used to work for, and made far more money in that time then I ever have there before!

With some of that money I went and bought a Rossi Ranch Hand in 44 Mag. I had been looking at these for a while and was intrigued. My former boss at the said charter company had bought one, as had a sheet metal contractor that worked there as well.

Here in Canada we are not allowed to carry a handgun. This means also in the woods. As a matter of fact you cannot shoot a handgun in the woods or on your private land if you own land. It can only be at an approved range. Sucks I know but those are the rules.

I bought the RH to take to the woods with me when I go as I try to spend a lot of time there on days off. I enjoy camping, hiking, geocaching and so on. My AO is the eastern slopes of the Rockies. This means bears and cougars. I have been around firearms all my life and have always been looking for something light and easy to pack that was not a handgun as that is verboten here.

The RH is not considered a handgun here and is treated as a normal rifle! Yay! I can take it with me pretty much anywhere except the national parks where I must rely on a can of spray to save my life....

It is also my first lever gun. I am not so sure I like the big loop on it but it seems like I can change that out. I have not yet taken it apart but it looks easy to do after watching on Youtube.