Retired and looking for a place to hunt Hogs

Any topic not related to the various forum categories
Forum rules
Keep it civil and mind the rules! Absolutely no ranting!
Comanche Ken

Retired and looking for a place to hunt Hogs

Post by Comanche Ken »

Hello all...Is there anyone that can point me to a contact POC who allows a retire Army vet to hunt hogs on their property or a location I can go to do it. I'm new in the Fort Hood Texas area and really need to be pointed in the right direction. Driving and distance is not a big issue for me. Thanks all
rondog
250 Shots
250 Shots

Re: Retired and looking for a place to hunt Hogs

Post by rondog »

Good luck to ya! I'd love to shoot some piggies too. But from what I keep hearing, seems most landowners consider the subject to be a fantastic cash cow.
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Ranch Dog »

What comes to mind immediately is hunting on Ft. Hood: http://www.hoodmwr.com/sportsmenscenter.htm

Other public hunting opportunities take place through Texas Parks and Wildlife. The hunting opportunities through that source are via public drawing and have already been selected. Specific feral hog hunts are still to take place and most of them offer standby opportunities. It would just take a bit of homework on your part to figure out where and when you would want to try to go: https://www2.tpwd.state.tx.us/huntwild/ ... l?OCat=GFH. As a note, every hunt TPWD offers will include feral hog hunting as they are an invasive species.

If neither of these suggestions is what you had in mind, it is just a matter of asking like you have done here. No doubt there is a lot of hogs on private land but remember that almost all the private land in Texas is leased or held for landowner hunting and their families. The TPWD Game Warden for the County of your interest, gun shops, and other related sources might steer you in the right direction.
Michael
Comanche Ken

Post by Comanche Ken »