Why get a conceal carry permit?

Any topic not related to the various forum categories
Forum rules
Keep it civil and mind the rules! Absolutely no ranting!
Moon Tree
500 Shots
500 Shots

Why get a conceal carry permit?

Post by Moon Tree »

Well I finally enrolled in a conceal carry class for this coming Saturday. I'm pretty excited about. I've been putting this off for 10 years or however long CCW has been available in KY. Open carry is legal in KY as is having handguns in your glove box. One of my biggest reasons for getting the permit is the political climate. Who knows what executive (unconstitutional) order our lame duck president will try to declare. Heaven forbid, Hillary gets in office. My second reason, is sometimes, like in the winter, open carry is difficult to accomplish while wearing a larger coat.

Back to the topic: I read recently in one of the gun magazines that something like 80% of aggressive behavior is thwarted by the presentation of a firearm. From personal experience of open carry and stories of friends and acquaintances, I believe this to be true. So, my question is why conceal your weapon when it could deter conflict before it even arises?
Life isn't about the toys you accumulate, but about the memories your create with those toys and friends.
TinMan
250 Shots
250 Shots

Re: Why get a conceal carry permit?

Post by TinMan »

I was told last week about a couple of little old ladies that went to the LTC class for the sole purpose of padding the statistics, both of them are 78 years old. On the 250 point course their scores were 235/215 respectively. Neither are going to carry in public, they just wanted to get some training and keep the guns for home defense should the need arise, but they wanted to send a message to Barry by adding two more tic marks to the tally sheet down in Austin.............yeah, welcome to Texas! +guns +guns
"The further a society drifts from truth, the more it will hate those who speak it."
George Orwell