Pistol Bullet Lube

Take total control of your projectiles by casting your own!
doskiez

Pistol Bullet Lube

Post by doskiez »

Im just getting into bullet casting and have been doing a lot of research about bullet lubes. I plan on pan lubing and shooting cast bullets in a number of different calibers, 9mm, .40 S&W, .45ACP, and .45-70 in the Rio Grand. I already shoot mas manufactured cast bullets in the rossi, but I plan on getting a mold for it to be more self sufficient. I was wondering what opinions you have or any recipies for good all purpose pan lubes you guys have experience with. Given our current ammo shortage im sure this will be a more popular topic as time goes on.
Thanks
Rio Grand .45-70
Many more guns, reloading equipment, etc etc.
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Pistol Bullet Lube

Post by Ranch Dog »

Always a great subject, moved the topic into the Bullet Casting forum, and you will probably see a wide range of suggestions.
Michael
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Ranch Dog »

doskiez wrote: I was wondering what opinions you have or any recipies for good all purpose pan lubes you guys have experience with.
I work with quite a few cartridges from the 25 ACP and 218 Bee up through the 45-70 Govt. I've always tried to keep it simple but actually own a Lyman 4500 as well. What I prefer to do is dip my bullets in Liquid Alox heated in a crock pot. I've tried just about every concoction out there but have always come back to Alox very quickly. In my 4500 I run LS Stuff's White Label Lube XLox 2500+ which is simply solidified Alox. I buy all my lube from LS Stuff. LS is changing from a static web page with ordering info to a web store to make things easier.

Here is how I do it: Dipping Alox
Michael
runfiverun
Founding Member
Founding Member

Post by runfiverun »

simple lube:
4oz bees wax by weight
4 tsp vaseline
2 tsp 2 stroke oil regular everyday not synthetic
2 tsp atf dexron type