Best 357 mold for casting/reloading newbie?

Take total control of your projectiles by casting your own!
Weetabix

Best 357 mold for casting/reloading newbie?

Post by Weetabix »

I'm new here and my searching is not great, so forgive me if this is answered elsewhere.

I'm new to the R92, but I love it. Mine is .357. I've wanted to try reloading and casting for a while. I've got the reloading setup and a melting pot. I need a mold. And a sizer?

So, what's the best mold for someone new to this to try? I'd like it to be easy to cast and easy to load. I'll look at shooting performance issues later. Right now, I'm interested in safety first and reloading ease next.

I suppose the question might be better.. er... cast as, "What mold will provide a bullet that's easy to cast, easy to load, and that there is lots of loading data for?"

I'm assuming the same bullet can be used for both .357 and 38 special. Is that right?

Thanks!
GasGuzzler

Re: Best 357 mold for casting/reloading newbie?

Post by GasGuzzler »

I would start with a Lee 2-cavity 158gr plain base.
__________________________________________________________________________________________
I've always been crazy but it's kept me from going insane.
Weetabix

Post by Weetabix »

Apparently I didn't have my board settings right to subscribe me to topics. This post will hopefully do that. :)
Ohio3Wheels
1000 Shots
1000 Shots

Post by Ohio3Wheels »

I started with a Lyman Keith style SWC about 158 gr with lube and gas check. I probably have about 200 pounds of wheel weights through that mold and it still throw darn nice boolits. That said Lyman molds have gotten pricey and you can find similar styles from Lee. The Lee sizer works fine and you can lube with straiht Lee allox or any of the home mixtures that are out there. For smokeless powder i use a mixture that's 60% LLA and 40% Johnsons One Step floor "wax". It coats better and dries quicker.