New to Leverguns...Henry vs. Rossi

Chiappa, Marlin, Mossberg and non-Rossi Manufactured Pumas plus anything else with a leveraction.
3Horse

New to Leverguns...Henry vs. Rossi

Post by 3Horse »

I'm new to leverguns, except for the Marlin 39A .22cal. I've had since 1995. My wife and I are wanting to move up to centerfire guns and have been looking at, and for, Rossi 92's. Gun stores we frequent mostly have Henry Big Boys. What are your opinions of Henrys, other than they are not as "authentic" as the Rossi. Not to mention being pricier. I like to have money left over to buy ammo :D
We'll mainly use them for fun, plinking, and home/farm defense (Coyotes, armadillos) . Always the possibility we'll do Cowboy action shooting down the road.
I appreciate all input and opinions.
Deleted User 2964

Re: New to Leverguns...Henry vs. Rossi

Post by Deleted User 2964 »

I have owned a 357 for 4 years now, great little rifle. Never had any problems. If you get a good one they are
well worth it, if not...well good luck with Rossi customer service.As for Henry I don't own one yet.I hear they are coming out with some new guns in 2017, shotguns and single shot rifles.
zippy
250 Shots
250 Shots

Post by zippy »

My main turn-off for Henry is the way they load through the mag tube.
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Ranch Dog »

This was a bit of a tough question for me a few years ago when I wanted a new 45-70 Govt levergun. Both Henry & Rossi had announced their new offerings but Rossi was the first to deliver through the Rio Grande by almost a year. Had Rossi not introduced that rifle, I would never have gotten into their complete line of firearms. Hard to say if that was good or bad.