Chaparral 1876 Help?

Chiappa, Marlin, Mossberg and non-Rossi Manufactured Pumas plus anything else with a leveraction.
Ninety Caliber

Chaparral 1876 Help?

Post by Ninety Caliber »

Found three Chararral 76's on gun broker. A 40-60 or 45-75 for $680"buy it now" or a 45-60 with dies for $1050. Am just beginning reloading and have wanted one FOREVER. Help me decide PLEASE!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
N.C.
Tuco Ramirez
500 Shots
500 Shots

Re: Chaparral 1876 Help?

Post by Tuco Ramirez »

I have NO experience with them. Sooooo I did a quick search and found they are not exempt from problems. Anything from major to minor and fit and finish issues. One guy had me laughing when he said his could not hit the side of a barn when shooting his from the inside the barn.

Sometimes you have to take a leap of faith and see where you land. If this is something you have always wanted I say go for it. Flip a coin and pick one.
I did my research with Rossi and had a good idea what I was getting into. Looking back I would do it again in a heartbeat. I have now added voluntary employment as a final assemblyman and quality control inspector at Rossi firearms to my resume…. :lol:
When you have to Shoot; shoot, don't talk.......
"I prefer dangerous freedom over peaceful slavery." Thomas Jefferson

ironhead7544
250 Shots
250 Shots

Post by ironhead7544 »

45-60 is the easiest to make up the brass. You can use 45-70 brass. Not sure on the 40-60 but the 45-75 and 50-95 require some expensive brass. I also want one of those but reports are mixed on them.
Missionary
Founding Member
Founding Member

Post by Missionary »

Greetings
Have had a Chapa in 50-95 for long enogh to know I like it. The early ones under serial # 1000 were prone to problems.