.44/720 handloads

Rossi's classic designs for home and self defense, hunting, or range work.
skipnsb

.44/720 handloads

Post by skipnsb »

Greetings:

I just acquired my first Rossi, an Interams 720 .44 special, fixed sights, fluted cylinder, bobbed hammer.

I have not shot it yet but I am impressed with the dao trigger and general fit and finish. However, I am not an expert.

I would appreciate some input:

1. the internet says the firing pin malfunctions, is that a generally known problem or urban legend?

2. I would be interested in what, if any, involvement Smith and Wesson had in the design/manufacture, and what parts will interchange, if any?

3. other than rossiusa, is there a place I can look up when my serial number was made?

4. strength of the gun?

Brian Pearce's article in the 2005 handloadermagazine.com article discussed the .44 special handloads and which guns were up to heavier handloading than SAAMI specs. He sets out 4 tiers of handloading-SAAMI 15,500 psi, 22,000 psi, 25,000 psi, and "over 25,000" psi.

He stated that the Charter Arms Bulldog was in his opinion strong enough for occasional loads up to 22,000 , and the Smith 396 (titanium) and steel 696 L frame 5 shot both suitable for 25,000 psi.

Curiously, the 2005 article does not mention the Rossi 720. The Rossi website says that Braztech took over Rossi in 1997, so my Interarms 720 would have been made well before the article was written.

My Rossi is a little heavier than my Bulldog, and feels at least as well made. Any ideas on why Mr. Pearce did not comment on the Rossi? Perhaps it was rare enough not to be considered mainstream? Or maybe he considered it unworthy, as I have seen quite a criticism of the Braztech Rossis?

I know this is not a heavy duty range weapon, and that hot loads won't be any fun, like my Bulldog, and that a steady diet of heavy loads will beat anything to death in some time.