+P info needed

Rossi's classic designs for home and self defense, hunting, or range work.
bonefamily

+P info needed

Post by bonefamily »

Ok, I admit I am still learning about higher pressure rated ammunition. I just purchased a R351 for carry and would like to know more about +P .38 Special ammo. I believe I understand that the theory behind +P and hollow points is to give the expanding bullet more velocity for deeper penetration. However, how does the +P react in terms of felt recoil? I assume it is higher, but I have not fired any to confirm this. Also, how do loads with say 130 grain bullets vary to 158 grain bullets in terms of felt recoil? Thanks for the help!
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: +P info needed

Post by Ranch Dog »

The SAAMI standard pressure maximum is 17.0K PSI and +P is an additional 1500 PSI, or 18.5K PSI. +P ammunition uses brass with a thicker web and is marked accordingly. Reloaders using +P load data must insure that they are using this +P brass. The SAAMI standard velocity for the 158-grain SWC you mentioned is 900 FPS and the +P 1050 FPS. Off hand, I'm not sure what barrel length is used with the velocity figures but with the 2" barrel of the 351, it will be less. In fact, in some cases and the 351 would be one of them, that is exactly what +P ammunition is used for; to make up for the velocity loss in short barrelled conceal carry handguns.
Michael
ironhead7544
250 Shots
250 Shots

Post by ironhead7544 »

In general, at the same velocity the heavier bullet will have more recoil. The +p loads pick up a little velocity in a 2 inch barrel, but not much. You will notice the difference in recoil and blast between the standard and +P. Buffalo Bore has some nice loads for the 38 Special in a 2 inch. If I had to use one for defense, that is what I would get.
bonefamily

Post by bonefamily »