Does Bullet, Pellet or Primer Brand matter in a Muzzleloader

Value priced adult & youth top break handguns, rifles, & shotguns chambered for centerfire & rimfire cartridges as well as shotshells. These arms are offered as single chamberings as well as a Matched Pair, Pick Four combinations, Trifecta, & the Wizard.
saltydog13

Post by saltydog13 »

Hello Everybody,
This is my first post. Obviously, I'm a newbie to this forum, and since I have enjoyed what I've read so far, I decided to join. Thus, I hope with your expertise, you can answer a couple of questions.

I have just purchased the Rossi combo (Wizard?) of 12ga slug/.50 cal muzzle loader rifle. Actually, I haven't received it yet. It's on its way to the FFL dealer. Since I am new to muzzle loading, I did some reading and eventually came across the manual for the rifle. The manual recommends some pretty specific name brand bullets , pellets etc. I asked an acquaintance that has done some black powder shooting, and he stated that those are recommendations only. That you can use them as guidelines, but that you do not have to use the name brand bullets etc. that they specify. I suppose my question is--is that true? Can you use other name brand bullets, pellets, etc, as long as it's within the parameters/recommendations of the manufacturer? It would seem weird that a rifle or gun is strictly ammo brand specific. I am aware that some center fire or rim fire firearms shoot better with certain brands of ammo than others, and some will gobble whatever is put in it, however, I was not sure if that is the case with muzzle loaders. Pardon my ignorance.

Anyway, your expertise and help in this would be greatly appreciated. Thank-you.
akuser47
Founding Member
Founding Member

Re: Does Bullet, Pellet or Primer Brand matter in a Muzzlelo

Post by akuser47 »