45-70 hard to find?

Rossi's latest and past big game rifle based on the 336 frame!
wquiles

45-70 hard to find?

Post by wquiles »

Man, I have been looking since late last year, and now close to being March, and no-one seems to have the Stainless RG in 45-70 (heck, not even the blued one). This is a great site that checks like 10 sites for inventory - nobody has one:
http://www.shooting.org/Guns/Rossi/Rio_Grande_3

Is this "normal"? Perhaps Rossi only imports a few of these per year, and only once a year?

My only other option is one of the Marlins with the Big Loop, but unless I can find an older JM, I am stuck rolling the dice with the "new" Remlin, with hit-miss quality (some are perfect, some are atrocious). So my thinking has been that since I am a machinist, I rather get the Rossi, dismantle, clean, de-burr, etc. (I have Steve's CD), and save the money over the Marlin for upgrades for the Rossi.

Will
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: 45-70 hard to find?

Post by Ranch Dog »

wquiles wrote:Man, I have been looking since late last year, and now close to being March, and no-one seems to have the Stainless RG in 45-70 (heck, not even the blued one). This is a great site that checks like 10 sites for inventory - nobody has one:
http://www.shooting.org/Guns/Rossi/Rio_Grande_3

Is this "normal"? Perhaps Rossi only imports a few of these per year, and only once a year?

My only other option is one of the Marlins with the Big Loop, but unless I can find an older JM, I am stuck rolling the dice with the "new" Remlin, with hit-miss quality (some are perfect, some are atrocious). So my thinking has been that since I am a machinist, I rather get the Rossi, dismantle, clean, de-burr, etc. (I have Steve's CD), and save the money over the Marlin for upgrades for the Rossi.